It´s a complete foul !!! because it is dangerous for the white player
Thanks Mauricio - I got hit in the ribs like that last week...
If you hit in the ribs, or if you hit a backhander (you have to take the white before) there is no foul.
If the withe wants to hit, he may hit by the near side back or regular. before he has to take the oponent.
It all depends on when exactly the white player made contact with the green player. What may have happened is that the green player started his swing prior to the white player making any form of contact (ie any ride off); and at the point the green player is following through with his under the neck shot the white player then makes contact - ie. After the green player started his swing.
In this photo, it appears probable that the white player has only just caught up with the green player, and therefore the green player is not at fault - if this is the case, the only question remains, is the white player at fault for ridding into the follow through swing of the green player?
Unfortunately, it is uncommon for an umpire to be experienced in analysing this play, and what usually happens is that the green player would be falsely accused of committing a dangerous play. Riding into the swing of another player, while not committed to a secure ride off, is always dangerous and should be blown in favour of the player playing the shot.
de ninguna manera. en el mismo momento en que el blanco toma al verde, independientemente de si había o no iniciado el swing, el verde no puede tirar cogote por la peligrosidad. lo que tiene que hacer el verde es aceptar la tomada y pechar para sacar al blanco y, si le queda la bocha, pegar por el lado del lazo.
Hi Mauricio ... My Spanish is very poor, and google translate isn't working for me - am interested in what you have to say, can say it again in English?
I see your point, and yes these hazards should be avoided.
But my question is what happened if the white player caught up with the green player after the green player started his under the neck shot?
Has this ever happened to you: you are riding down the field, with no one riding you off and you take an under the neck shot and as you finish the shot you look up and you find that an opponent has only just caught up with you in a ride off. As a result, the second half of your under the neck shot comes in contact with your opponent?
Wouldn’t this be a foul on your opponent, as they rode into your swing? Isn’t riding into a swing, regardless of what shot it is, against the rules?
But, maybe I am wrong – just a thought.
Absolutely a foul. It is clear that white is pulling /checking up. Greens follow thru has hit white in the left wrist.
If they were neck and neck from the start ... ie. prior to the green player taking the shot, then yes, foul.
Wow...Thank you all for your input.
if the white had the line and was going to hit a backshot, yes. If the green had the line,and white whent to ride him off, it is not a foul.